

To: Chair and Members of the County

Council

Date: 22 February 2012

Direct Dial: 01824712589

e-mail: dcc\_admin@denbighshire.gov.uk

#### **Dear Councillor**

You are invited to attend a meeting of the COUNTY COUNCIL to be held at 10.00 am on TUESDAY, 28 FEBRUARY 2012 in THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, RUTHIN LL15 1YN.

Yours sincerely

G Williams Head of Legal and Democratic Services

#### **AGENDA**

#### 1 APOLOGIES

To receive apologies for absence.

#### 2 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

#### 3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972.

#### **4 MINUTES** (Pages 1 - 8)

To receive the minutes of the Council meeting held on the 7 February 2012 (copy enclosed).

## **5 ANNUAL IMPROVEMENT REPORT** (Pages 9 - 12)

To consider a report by the Head of Business, Planning and Performance (copy enclosed) which outlines the Council's response to the WAO's Annual Improvement Report.

## 6 COUNCIL TAX 2012 / 13 AND ASSOCIATED MATTERS (Pages 13 - 20)

To consider a report by the Chief Finance Officer (copy enclosed) to consider the precepts received from the North Wales Police Authority and the Town / Community Councils and declare the Council Tax levels for the 2012 / 2013 financial year.

# 7 RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE STRATEGIC INVESTMENT GROUP (Pages 21 - 28)

To consider a report by the Head of Finance and Assets (copy to follow) which contains information in the report and in a **confidential** appendix on the capital bids received for inclusion in the Council's 2012 / 2013 capital plan.

#### **8 REVIEW OF THE NEW SCRUTINY SYSTEM** (Pages 29 - 44)

To consider a report by the Head of Business, Planning and Performance (copy enclosed) which outlined the conclusions of a review of the new scrutiny system adopted by the Council in May 2011.

#### **Comfort Break**

#### 9 CONSTITUTION REVIEW (Pages 45 - 78)

To consider a report by the Monitoring Officer (copy enclosed) to inform Members of the outcome of the consultation process to date and suggested areas of changes to the Council's Constitution.

## 10 TREASURY MANAGEMENT STRATEGY STATEMENT 2012 / 13 AND PRUDENTIAL INDICATORS 2012 / 13 TO 2014 / 15 (Pages 79 - 104)

To consider a report by the Head of Finance and Assets (copy enclosed) which shows how the Council will manage its investments and its borrowing for the coming year and seeks approval for the policies within which the Treasury Management function operates.

#### 11 TIMETABLE FOR COUNCIL AND COMMITTEE MEETINGS FOR 2012 / 13

To consider a report by the Head of Legal and Democratic Services (copy to follow) for County Council to approve the timetable of meetings for 2012 / 2013 as detailed in appendix 1 of the report.

#### 12 NOTICE OF MOTION

To consider the following Motion submitted by Councillor Brian Blakeley:

"The Council notes with concern the fact that the Local Development Plan Inspector has reached a preliminary conclusion that the County Council has made insufficient provision for housing.

This Council wishes to remind both Cabinet members and officers of the extent of authority delegated to them and recognise that it is for the full Council to decide upon any changes to plans and alterations which comprise the Local Development Plan.

This Council wishes to inform the Inspector that all Council members must be informed of any change to policy, proposals or strategy discussed by officers, at explanatory meetings, on behalf of Denbighshire County Council are matters that must first be subject of approval by full Council."

#### 13 COUNCIL FORWARD WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 105 - 108)

To consider the Council's forward work programme (copy enclosed).

#### **MEMBERSHIP**

#### Councillors

lan Armstrong Raymond Bartley John Bellis

John Bellis
Brian Blakeley
Joan Butterfield
June Cahill

Jeanette Chamberlain-Jones

William Cowie
Ann Davies
Carl Davies
James Davies
Meirick Davies
Pauline Dobb
Peter Duffy

Michael Eckersley
Christine Evans
Gwilym Evans
Hugh Evans
Bobby Feeley
Sharon Frobisher
George Green
Ian Gunning
Diana Hannam
Colin Hughes

Neville Hughes Rhiannon Hughes Rhys Hughes Glyn Jones Huw Jones Morfudd Jones Richard Jones Gwyneth Kensler

David Lee
Paul Marfleet
Lucy Morris
Peter Owen
Dewi Owens
Allan Pennington
Barbara Smith
David Smith
David Thomas
Selwyn Thomas
Julian Thompson-Hill

Cefyn Williams Eryl Williams Glyn Williams Jane Yorke

#### **COPIES TO:**

Press and Libraries
Town and Community Councils